District 10

Community Council  

Changes on District 10 board of directors

At its annual meeting and election in April, District l0 Community Council members elected the following as new board members: Lizzy Cantley (subdistrict 3 seat), Jeremy Rappaport (at-large renter seat), Abby Gold and Mark Machacek (at-large seats).

Incumbent board members Alex McLane (subdistrict 1), Dan Edgerton (subdistrict 2) and Ben Kowalsky-Grahek (subdistrict 4) were also reelected for another 2-year term.

Meanwhile, the board appointed the following new officers for 1-year terms: Jenne Nelson, who served as secretary this past year, is the new District 10 board chairperson. Dan Edgerton was appointed vice chairman. Matt Keliher was appointed treasurer and Chad Smith is serving as interim secretary.

Outgoing officers Chairperson Jill Henricksen and Vice Chairman Ben Kowalsky-Grahek are continuing on the board in other roles. Outgoing treasurer Mike Ireland ended his third term on the District 10 board with a promise to continue supporting the organization in other capacities.

Lawns to Legumes grant

The District 10 Council was awarded the Lawns to Legume Demonstration Neighborhood grant through the Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources.

A group of community members linked to the District 10 Environment Committee had proposed a plan for pollinator habitats throughout the Como Subdistrict 4 Community. The neighborhood between Como Avenue, Front Avenue, Lexington Parkway and the railroad tracks will receive up to four boulevard gardens, four bee lawns, a community pollinator garden and a pocket prairie.

Funding is provided by the Minnesota Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund and is targeting priority areas to benefit the rusty-patched bumblebee and other at-risk species. Find updates at District10ComoPark.org/L2L.

Pick Up & Party Event-June 4

The Como Community Council will host a free Pick Up & Party event at Orchard Recreation Center, 875 W Orchard Ave., from 2 to 5 p.m., on Saturday, June 4. The event will begin with the neighborhood cleanup from Front Street to Como Avenue and Dale Street to the railroad tracks.

Check in at the Rec Center between 2 and 3 p.m. for supplies and the location to start the pickup. After the cleanup, meet back at the recreation center for live music, snacks and yard games. Everyone is invited to this free event — find out more at district10comopark.org/sd4event.

If you’d like to help hosting events like this, please consider a donation to our Neighborhood Events Fund at givemn.org/story/D10events or become a volunteer at district10comopark.org/volunteer.

Upcoming meetings:

Renters, homeowners and other community members are always welcome to participate in District 10’s board and committee meetings. You can join them by video conference or by phone. To obtain links or other access information, send a request by email to: district10@district10comopark.org. Or call 651-644-3889.

• Land Use Committee: Wednesday, June 1

• Neighborhood Relations Committee: Tuesday, June 7

• Environment Committee: Tuesday, June 14

All meetings begin at 7 p.m. Whenever possible, agendas and other relevant documents are posted in advance on District 10’s website: district10comopark.org

Submitted by Shevek McKee, District 10 Como Community Council executive director

Leave a Reply