Como District 10 elections are April 18

Ten positions on the District 10 Como Community Council Board are up for election at District 10’s annual meeting Tuesday, April 18. Two-year terms are available for these positions: chair, secretary and a representative from each of the four geographic sub-districts and three atlarge representatives. In addition, a special election will be held for a vacant at-large position.

Community members will also vote on an amendment to District 10’s Articles of Incorporation. This technical amendment, which was approved by the District 10 board in March, legally incorporates Sub- District 4 into the boundaries of the district. Biographies of candidates who filed in time to be on the ballot are available on District 10’s website, Board members elected in the nine regular elections will serve from April 25, 2017, to April 23, 2019. The board member elected to fill the at-large vacancy will take office immediately and serve until April 2018.

Community residents will vote in person, using secret ballots, at the annual meeting. All members will be able to vote for chair, secretary and the at-large positions. Only members who live in a particular sub-district will be able to vote for those positions. The annual meeting will begin at 7 p.m. at the Historic Streetcar Station, 1224 N. Lexington Parkway, at the northeast corner of Lexington and Horton Ave.

Leave a Reply