Murray presents ‘Little Mermaid Jr.’ plus more news

Students work through a routine for the upcoming “Little Mermaid Jr.” play at Murray Middle School.

Break a leg!

Murray’s theater department will present “The Little Mermaid Jr.” March 23-25 in the school auditorium. Tickets at the door will be $10 for adults and $6 for children under 10. Advance tickets are available online at Performances on Friday, March 23, and Saturday, March 24, will be held at 7 p.m. The Sunday, March 25, performance will be held at 2 p.m. You can help the theater department raise money at a pre-show spaghetti dinner on Friday from 4:30 to 6 p.m. in the school cafeteria. Tickets will be sold at the door and are $10 for adults, $6 for students ages 5-18, and $25 for families (up to five family members). The meal will include spaghetti, salad, breadsticks, beverage and dessert.

Students head to state science fair

Seventeen of the 40 Murray students who participated in the Twin Cities Regional Science Fair on March 2 will move on to the Minnesota State Science Fair April 8-10 in Brooklyn Park.

The state competition qualifiers are: Hemetii Apet (BC), Gajan Dileepan (BC), Owen Finley (BC), Maggie Fuller (BC), Adam Gaudio, Betty Hebble (BC), Betsey Hofer (BC), Katherine Kozak (BC), Max Mills (BC), Levi Nichols, Annelise Purcell (BC), Lyra Sato (BC), Isabella Shapland (BC), Soren Sackreiter (BC), Kevin Torstenson (BC), Peter Wenger (BC) and Sebastian Zarkower (BC).(“BC” indicates the student qualified for the Broadcom Masters National Science Fair Competition). Oliver Pletch qualified as an alternate to the state competition.

Murray Middle School sent 40 students to the Twin Cities Regional Science Fair March 2.

Three students received the Science Excellence Award: Adam Gaudio, Betsy Hofer and Sam Skinner.

A number of students (and one teacher) received specialty awards at the regional competition: Hemetii Apet, Caffeinated Student ISEF Alumni Award; Ayden Brudnak Voss, Naval Science Award; Tim Chase, Inspiring Excellence Teacher Award; Taylor Branson, American Chemical Society; Collin Farnham, 3M Commercial Solutions Division; Maggie Fuller, 3M Film and Materials Resource Center; Betsey Hofer, Joel Wagner Caring Bridge Award (for cancer research); Gay Htoo, Emerging Scientist; James Kahn, U.S. Air Force; Isadora McGinley Myers, Minnesota American Society of Microbiology; Annelise Purcell, 3M Commercial Solutions Division; Soren Sackreiter, Broadway Party and Tent Rental Sponsor Award and 3M Film and Materials Resource Center; Kaya Solheid, NASA Earth Science Award; Bodie Treiber, Minnesota State Horticultural Award; and Peter Wenger, Naval Science Award.

Thank you, Sunrise Banks

Thank you to Sunrise Banks for donating proceeds from the Park Perks program in February to the Pilot One-on-One Tutoring Program at Murray Middle School.

Leave a Reply