News from Como Park Senior High School

National Merit contenders

Congratulations to the five juniors who met requirements to enter the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program: Jacob Cohen, Jasmine Hyder, Zach Lee, Elliot Moormann and Stryker Thompson.

Debate team news

Three Como debaters, Yassin Ahmed, Troy Murphy and Ian Johnson, were asked to be part of the Minnesota Urban Debate League’s first-ever public debate, the Mayors’ Challenge: The Great Transportation Debate. This was a fundraising event with the St. Paul and Minneapolis mayors, as well as the state transportation commissioner.

Ahmed was selected as one of the four students to be involved in the public debate; Johnson and Murphy were invited to the breakfast as representatives of the league. Ahmed was selected (from all debating juniors in Minneapolis and St. Paul high schools) for an Urban Debate League fellowship, which includes free summer debate camp and a four-week internship at a prominent Minneapolis law firm.

Athena Award winner

Abigail Smith is the Athena Award winner for Como Park High School. She has played four years of varsity volleyball, hockey and softball while staying on the A Honor Roll with Distinction. She will be attending St. Olaf College in the fall. Millennium scholar Naw Doh Doh is a Gates Millennium Scholar, which offers a full ride to a four-year college for highly qualified minority students.

Leave a Reply