St. Anthony Park community council news

District 12

Bauer joins board

The St. Anthony Park Community Council has appointed Ben Bauer to its board of directors.

Bauer, who lives in north St. Anthony Park, is a lawyer and is interested in governance and economic justice. He previously was a middle school teacher, ­director of a college access program and director of operations of an ele­mentary school serving mostly students of immigrant families.

Meanwhile, seats remain open for 2021 for Emerging Leader and Business/Organization delegates and North/South alternates. Appointed members serve a one-year term. Eligible candidates must be at least 16 years old and either live, work or have a vested interest in St. Anthony Park. For further information on serving on the District 12 board of directors, email

Community plan task force forming

In February, the District 12 Community Council revised development design standards as part its updated 10-year community plan to the city of St. Paul.

These common design standards for new building represent the work of representatives from the Creative Enterprise Zone, the Towerside Innovation District, Prospect Park Association and the District 12 Community Council.

We recognize consistent design standards are needed to help guide developers in carrying out their projects.

Now, the District 12 Land Use Committee is creating a task force to meet with the city to figure out the logistics of getting the Unified Design Standards in front of developers and to better coordinate projects with city staff.

District 12’s new 10-year plan will go through a series of reviews before the City Council considers it for final adoption.

Visit the SAPCC website to read the updated document.

SAPCC May meetings

Equity Committee: 5:30 p.m., Monday, May 3

Land Use Committee: 7 p.m., Thursday, May 6

Board Meeting: 7 p.m., Thursday, May 13

Transportation Committee: 7 p.m., Tuesday, May 25

Environment Committee: 7 p.m., Wednesday, May 26

All meetings are hosted via Zoom. Meeting times are subject to change. If you want to attend a meeting or have questions about joining a committee, please email Kathryn at for the link

Submitted by Kathryn Murray, District 12 executive director.

Leave a Reply